{Dinner in 5 Minutes} Tomato Basil “Sloppy Joe’s”

It had been a stressful day at work.  It looked like this outside, even though it’s barely August (you should see half of San Francisco and the Golden Gate Bridge).

I didn’t want to cook but wanted something fresh.  I chopped a couple of heirloom tomatoes I’d bought at the farmers market and some leftover basil, tossed it with a drizzle of olive oil and balsamic vinegar and generously dashed with salt and pepper.  Served on top of a toasted dinner roll, it tasted like summer but was as fun to eat as sloppy joe’s – slopping all over the place.  Halfway through I gave up and tore up the bread and put it in the bowl, turning it into a bread salad.

A pear for dessert, it was a good dinner and so simple.  What simple 5 minute dinners magically put you in a better mood?

8 thoughts on “{Dinner in 5 Minutes} Tomato Basil “Sloppy Joe’s”

  1. LOVE this idea. I miss Oregon and it’s Heirloom tomatoes and my parents garden and fresh, fresh, FRESH! I can’t wait to move somewhere where I can have a garden. Tomato and basil salad is one of my faves.

  2. Pingback: Making Voodles, and a Tasty Voodle Salad with Avocado Dijon Dressing « Nourish, Preserve, and Flourish

  3. Mmm. Heirloom tomatoes. Simple, “thrown together” dinners like this are some of my favorites. I don’t know what it is about tomatoes and basil together, but they really are a perfect match.

    What kind of gluten free bread do you like?

    • Full disclosure… that picture was taken with a regular whole wheat dinner roll from Whole Foods. I generally don’t have bread in the house – I just don’t eat it that often! I used to buy my GF bread at Trader Joe’s. If I’m craving something on bread, I often make it myself – I’ll share a recipe soon(ish)!

  4. Pingback: Life lesson from pizza: Easier-is-better cornmeal pizza crust with boozy heirloom tomato sauce and crispy kale « Nourish, Preserve, and Flourish

  5. Pingback: {Dinner in 10 Minutes} Teriyaki Tofu Tacos « Nourish, Preserve, and Flourish

  6. Pingback: {Tomatoes Taste Like Summer} Cheezy Boozy Heirloom Tomato Pasta « Nourish, Preserve, and Flourish

  7. Pingback: {How to Handle an Epic Fail} Basil and Brie Flatbread « Nourish, Preserve, and Flourish

Leave a Reply

