{Inspire}

“Fill (someone) with the urge or ability to do or feel something, esp. to do something creative”

Everyone loves lists.  Here’s what inspired me this week.

Nourish

I want to attempt a vegan, gluten-free version of this No-Bake Boston Cream Pie Strata from The Kitchn  I want to make this Zucchini Spread from Philly Homegrown for my next cocktail party. Another way to try voodles from Oh She Glows – tomato sauce, hummus, and a crumbled veggie burger – yum!

Preserve

After making it for the first time, I am now obsessed with tomato jam.  Both of these versions sound amazing, but may have to wait until next year – I think I’m canned out for the time being!

Yellow Tomato Jam with Smoked Paprika from Food in Jars This spicy sweet Black Dog Farm Tomato Jam from Grow It Cook It Can It sounds incredible Ditto for this Curried Tomato Jam from The Cozy Herbivore

Flourish

Two videos inspired me this week – Michelle Obama reminded me that I love America at the DNC, and a TED talk reminded me of the paradox that the less stressed I am, the more productive I am.

I fell a little more in love with Michelle Obama after hearing her speech and the Democratic National Convention.  Those of you who know me know that I love to love America (the 4th of July is my favorite holiday).  Michelle reminded me that I love America, too.

Two favorite quotes:

“And he believes that when you’ve worked hard, and done well, and walked through that doorway of opportunity…you do not slam it shut behind you…you reach back, and you give other folks the same chances that helped you succeed.”

“If farmers and blacksmiths could win independence from an empire…if immigrants could leave behind everything they knew for a better life on our shores…if women could be dragged to jail for seeking the vote…if a generation could defeat a depression, and define greatness for all time…if a young preacher could lift us to the mountaintop with his righteous dream…and if proud Americans can be who they are and boldly stand at the altar with who they love…then surely, surely we can give everyone in this country a fair chance at that great American Dream.”

A friend recommended this great TED talk about rethinking our model for success.  Research shows that our brains work better when we are feeling positive rather than negative, neutral or stressed, contradictory to the Protestant work ethic ingrained in all of us – that the harder you work the more successful you’ll be.  The universe was trying to drive this lesson home, since I saw this video after I discovered my life lesson from pizza: that harder isn’t always better.

The presenter argues that if we are positive in the present, we will be more successful.  I love the idea of creating gratitude habits – maybe I’ll make a monthly challenge out of it.

One thought on “{Inspire}

  1. Pingback: {Inspire} Smoking out the bees « Nourish, Preserve, and Flourish

Leave a Reply

