{Curried Tofu with Coconut Quinoa}

I saw this recipe for Curried Chicken with Coconut Rice on Shutterbean’s blog two weeks ago, and knew I had to make it.  Since I ended up adapting it quite a bit, I think I just loved the idea of a simple curry dish cooked in the oven.  It just sounded so warming and comforting, perfect for this foggy San Francisco weather we’ve been having.

Tofu sounded like a natural stand-in for the chicken, and I love tofu in curries because it soaks up the sauce and takes on the flavor.  I pan fried it first to give it a little more texture.  Baking it made it a bit more dense without being chewy.

I cut the recipe in half since it’s just me, so you can easily double the recipe if you’re cooking for a family.  I used red curry paste instead of curry powder since that’s what I had on hand, and I also love the rich flavor.

I don’t keep white rice in my kitchen, and actually don’t really like it very much since it doesn’t have much nutritional value.  Quinoa cooks in about the same amount of time as white rice (and has the benefit of an extra protein boost), so I gambled and tried it.  Success!  It took an extra five minutes in the oven to fully cook, but turned out nice and fluffy.

I added a head of broccoli so I wouldn’t have to make a separate veggie dish – sometimes I’m lazy.

This dish goes straight from the oven to the table, and presents beautifully.  The tofu and broccoli float on the bed of quinoa, and the red curry turns a beautiful color in the oven.  It’s delicious and filling, perfect for a crisp fall night, or if you need a little comfort in your tummy.

Curried Tofu with Coconut Quinoa

Email, print, or text the recipe here.

Serves 4

  • 1 container of extra firm tofu (14 oz)
  • 3 teaspoons toasted sesame oil, divided
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 medium yellow onion, diced
  • 1/2 can unsweetened light coconut milk (14 oz)
  • 4 teaspoons curry paste
  • 1 teaspoon tomato paste
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ginger juice
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 1 head broccoli

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large Dutch oven or other heavy pot, heat 2 teaspoons of toasted sesame oil over high. Pat the tofu dry with several paper towels and cut into cubes. Cook the tofu, stirring occasionally to prevent sticking, until lightly golden, approximately 15 minutes. Transfer to a plate.

Reduce heat to medium and add 1 teaspoon of toasted sesame oil. Add garlic, onion, and salt. Cook, stirring with a wooden spoon, until onion is translucent, 6 minutes. Stir in coconut milk, curry paste, ginger juice, and tomato paste until combined. Add water and quinoa, stir to combine and bring to a boil. Arrange tofu and broccoli on top of curry. Cover and bake until liquid is absorbed, about 25 minutes.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “{Curried Tofu with Coconut Quinoa}

  1. Pingback: I love lists, Friday! – Shutterbean

  2. Good day I am so glad I found your blog, I really found you by
    accident, while I was looking on Digg for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a fantastic post
    and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the excellent jo.

Leave a Reply

